Posted by: whatallisonsees | November 12, 2009

A Real Day in the Life

It was my 3rd day in Malakal, Sudan on Monday and I think I truly experienced a day in the life.

Woke up and had some eggs and freshly baked bread from a Dukan across the street. Then I went with my sister in law and another girl, Stephanie, that lives in the same compound as us to visit some women from Darfur. It was very interesting to be in their home and spend time learning who they were. We had to wear sleeves that covered our elbows and scarfs that covered our hair.  My 2 yr old niece came, too, and played really well with the little boy that was there with the women. It is special thing to see a little white baby girl (culturally ranked above even grown Sudanese men) serving a little Sudanese boy coffee and sharing food and toys with him. It was one of those days that will be impossible to forget.

Unfortunately this was the day I was super sick. At one point I was just walking hunched over because of such bad stomach pain. I was nervous it was Giardia, but it passed in a day (thank goodness). Note to self, if you are feeling ill, do not walk across town, stay put and don’t move.

This is on the street right outside the compound where I am staying. You can see the army in the back.

This is on the street right outside the compound where I am staying. You can see the army in the back. In Sudan there are no street names. People just say "on the road going to the airport" or "on the road back from the SUK (market)"

This is on the same street.

This is on the same street. This boy watched everything I was doing. I think he was on his way to school.
Still on the same street.

Still on the same street. Super cute children on their way to the school behind our compound. I was a dukan (little corner market) where sometimes the children come to buy their lunch.

Avery and Allison at the Dukan

Avery and Allison at the Dukan

A beautiful women at the Dukan

A beautiful women at the Dukan. I was a fan of her bright necklace!

Same street again.

Same street again. These donkey carts are all over Malakal. Used at F350s in the states.

Women are incredibly talented with carrying stuff on their heads.

Women are incredibly talented with carrying stuff on their heads. The water jugs are the most amazing to watch.

My adorable niece!

My adorable niece!

Allison and I on our way to visit some Muslim women from Darfur.

Allison and I on our way to visit some Muslim women from Darfur. Elbows, Ankles, and Hair must all be covered.

This is Regina.

This is Regina. She is the lady that helps Allison with laundry and cleaning around the house.

Sweet boy from Darfur.

Avery and the boy enjoyed playing with my sunglasses.

Avery and the boy enjoyed playing with my sunglasses. No one really uses those here.

Love this shot, doesn't it look like Avery is breakdancing!?

Love this shot, doesn't it look like Avery is breakdancing!?

Allison, Avery and Stephanie with the Darfur women.

Allison, Avery and Stephanie with the Darfur women.

The area of Malakal where the women live.

The area of Malakal where the women live. Behind one of the gates, is a group of homes entire families share. And if one family moves away, some other random relative will move in. Everything is group owned.

These group of girls followed Allison and Me to the market. SO sweet.

These group of girls followed Allison and Me to the market. SO sweet. I think Avery was the point of interest. Most of the time they think she is a doll since they haven't ever seen a little white baby. Actually, Avery is the only white child in all of Malakal.

A beautiful (guhmeela) Sudanese girl.

A beautiful (guhmeela) Sudanese girl.


Responses

  1. Hi Allison,
    I am so enjoying your documentation of your journey and your photos. Wish I was there with you. Thank you for sharing with me. We continue to pray God’s direction and protection in your life.
    Many blessings and love,

    Marilyne xo

  2. Hey sweet girl! what great adventures you are having… I can’t wait to read more about them!

    ~Danielle Johnson


Leave a comment

Categories