Posted by: whatallisonsees | November 8, 2009

Part one: Suggestions. Part Two: Some news of Malakal.

Howdy my friends. I have a quick question for you – I have been doing this blog for a while now and would like your suggestions on how to improve it or encouragement to keep on doing something you like. Comment here or email me at allikay@gmail.com

Thanks!

Today was great in Malakal. I met a ton more people, went to an Arabic church, into town for food, hung out with the family and just enjoyed the day.  The church was great, tons of singing – videos to come when I have a better internet connection.  The whole church would sing, then there were opportunities for groups of people representing each of the tribes to come forward and sing… which meant all the white people got a turn.  So the six of us, my brother, sister in law, Avery, and 2 other missionaries on the property headed to front and did our best rendition of O Come Let Us Adore Him.  It was a hit, at least I think it was.  Though – following the AMAZING music from the tribes, we might have looked quite silly.

After church everyone files out and shakes every person’s hand. When you get to the end of the line, you join it and start shaking everyone else’s hand. I like that.  Personally greeting everyone, even the teeniest kids. It was fun.

Here are some pictures from the day. Soon I hope to have some of the “Suk,” the local market in the city.

 

My new friends on Loki. Lea was the one that took care of me there before I headed to Sudan.

My new friends on Loki. Lea was the one that took care of me there before I headed to Sudan.

My first experience sleeping in a mosquito net.

My first experience sleeping in a mosquito net.

At the Loki police station

My favorite picture yet. At the Loki police station

I wanted to climb these mountains!!!

I wanted to climb these mountains!!!

Avery loves her bottles of water!

Avery loves her bottles of water!

The face killed me!

The face killed me!

The church choir.

The church choir.

A super pic by Allison, my sister in law. Taylor enhanced it.

A super pic by Allison, my sister in law. Taylor enhanced it. It was amazing to watch this little boy, probably no older than 2 being completely content for 2 hours during the service. And, he was sitting directly in the sun shortly after this picture and was dripped in sweat. This people are far different from any I have known before.

Some of the kids from church.

Some of the kids from church.

Allison and me in our formal Laos for church.

Allison and me in our formal Laos for church. The women are very specific about these laos. Apparently mine was tied incorrectly so a super kind woman came and untied and fixed it for me. She was so gracious about it. Looks like something you just throw on so you don't have to care about what you are wearing, but it is quite the opposite. The shirt underneath MUST match and the skirt as well.

 

 


Responses

  1. All looks greart, love the pictures and the comments. Keep it up. Glad you made without trouble. Kisses to all the family.

    • Thanks so much Granny – it was so wonderful for you to come down so last minute. I really enjoyed the time with you before I left – love you!


Leave a comment

Categories