Posted by: whatallisonsees | September 5, 2009

Leaving home… – Ode to Squamish.

So I have been in Squamton now for about 7 weeks, and I only have about 2 left.  Suck!

This town has become my home. I have seen people come and go. I have made tremendous friendships and met up with old friends. I have climbed and reclimbed routes. I have sent bouldering projects. I have bled. I have laughed. I have cried, from laughing so hard. I have volunteered in community events. I have hosted a party. I have attend many other parties. I’ve picked up “eh.” I have a church body I am a part of. I run into people I know all over town. And in the forests. Really, truly, this has become home.

Now every day is just so sad because it is coming closer and closer to being my last.  I can’t wait for what’s to come, Seattle, Portland, Salt Lake, Denver, Arkansas, 24HHH, JBU Homecoming, and then a month at the Red. Then November in Sudan and Kenya, 2 weeks in Cape Town, back to Kenya. Texas for Christmas, ski bum all winter in Denver. Back to Squamish in May. Phew!

Totally psyched for all of that, but its accompanied by an unexpected belongingness to this city. I thought I’d just float for the next couple of years. Explore, learn, be stretched, but never really attach anywhere. Mission Unaccomplished, in a good way.

Squamish has the most genuine people that are truly loving their lives. Their decisions are unmanipulated and the way they accept everyone, climbers or not, is so loving and caring. How could you not want to stay! An hour from Whistler and Vancouver, but somehow camouflaged, tucked away, doing its own thing. Climbing, canoeing, logging, manufacturing, biking, farmer’s markets. So much going on. Geeeeeeeez! A great place.

Night bouldering with roomates

Night bouldering with roomates

Chillin' with Amanda on a trad lead day for me!

Chillin' with Amanda on a trad lead day for me!

Matt Being awesome on an 11c crack

Matt Being awesome on an 11c crack

THE CHIEF!

THE CHIEF!

A view from the top of the Chief!

A view from the top of the Chief!

Leave a Reply

Categories

