Posted by: whatallisonsees | August 21, 2009

Tofino beaches and climbing

I am going to do a write up of the trip and add a lot of surfing, sea life, and other pictures – this is a just a quick video of Rosie Bay that I shot today, on our last morning in Tofino. The climbing ended up being totally awesome and I can’t wait to go back with more time and a bit of chalk. The rock was pretty good though! Totally solid after thousands of years of tides and waves crashing it down. Not quite as slopey as I was expecting – it is some kind of combo between volcanic-amorphic rock and like a soft sand stone friction. Total cake. Met a dude, Daniel that showed us the spot and another guy, Johnnny told us they might come out with a guide soon.  Total props to him, too, for opening the first climbing gym in Tofino on July 11th this year, called The Alternative.  Please go check it out if you head to Tofino – this dude set up a rad gym with as little space as he had. A great bouldering cave and about 8 top ropes.

Inside the Cave.

Inside the Cave.

A super neat Traverse.

A super neat Traverse.

Paddling - I don't mess around, for this is serious business.  Cox Beach

Paddling - I don't mess around, for this is serious business. Cox Beach

Finally getting the hang of it.

Finally getting the hang of it, Cox Beach.

Responses

  1. allison,
    I stumbled across your page thanks to fb. looks like you have been hitting up some great climbing up north. I am glad to hear it, and very very jealous!! keep up the good work, and keep writing about it so I can live vicariously while I am at the office!

    I saw you were going to be at HCR in sept for the 24 hours. Are you planning on coming for the rendevous also? If you are, we should climb some together and catch up on life since NBC and JBU! take care.

  2. allison,
    I stumbled across your page thanks to fb. It looks like you have been getting some great climbing in up north! I am jealous. I haven’t ever made it that far north to climb, but I will have to sometime soon it sounds like. Keep up the climbing and writing so that I can live vicariously between 8-5 at this desk!

    I saw that you are headed to HCR for the 24hrs in September. Are you also planning on hitting up the Rendevous out there? If you do, give me a shout. We should climb together and catch up on life since NBC and JBU! take care, and keep it up!

    • yea man! I am headed there to volunteer for the comp, but sticking around to climb for a few days before the JBU homecoming. Let’s absolutely plan on getting our climb on – and with your lovely wifey!

      • hehe. didn’t realize I posted 2x… nice.

        sounds good. I am not sure if we will make the comp or not, but we usually are out there in Oct for the rendezvous, so maybe we will cross paths either at the crags or at JBU for homecoming!


Leave a Reply

Categories

