Posted by: whatallisonsees | July 28, 2009

Donuts and Muffins

This blog is dedicated to the man that invented the Let’s-Put-Cake-Into-Weird-Shapes-And-Sell-It-For-Breakfast donut and muffin. To him, I am eternally grateful

I have now been ‘out of work’ for a month. The first 2 weeks were brutal as I spent almost every moment packaging and logisticalsizing. Then I set off in my car, Guy, across the country for a 3000 road trip.  Fun, but still, every moment was packed.  I arrived in Squamish, British Columbia about a week and a half ago and still totally exhausted and busy every day.

So, I decided last Thursday to chill out. Intentionally do nothing and spend a lot of time by myself Friday, Saturday and today. And, man – it has been wonderful.  I finally feel like I don’t have a job. It is so incredibly relaxing. Just that knowledge. To know I am not working and feel it, too.  I hung out at a pier, I read the Bible, I laid in a park and ate cherries and through the bad ones to some birds, got stung by a hornet!!!!, took a yoga class, cooked some dinner, went to a thrift store.  All my myself.  Good time. I can breathe now.

This weekend in Squamish was packed with amazing activities!  Bed races in downtown, world loggers competition, concerts, slackline festival… it was crazy.

These loggers worked magic with their chainsaws, making chairs to raise $ for Big Brothers, Big SIsters

These loggers worked magic with their chainsaws, making chairs to raise $ for Big Brothers, Big SIsters

I was tempted to buy the A chair....

I was tempted to buy the A chair....

After the bed races, there was a band that played above the coffee shop while the main downtown street was closed down. AWESOMMMMMMMMMME!!!

After the bed races, there was a band that played above the coffee shop while the main downtown street was closed down. AWESOMMMMMMMMMME!!!

Slacking over water!

Slacking over water!

I was able to jump on, walk, turn 180 and then walk again. I was quite pleased with myself! So fun to hang out with everyone and learn from other slackliners.  Food, water, slacklines, jewelry, bluegrass music. Wonderful.

There were about 15 lines set up all different heights and directions. Super fun!!

There were about 15 lines set up all different heights and directions. Super fun!!

Responses

  1. What is this Squam place you speak of?! Do I live under a rock? (Probably!) I’ve never heard of it, but it sounds like fun. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

