Posted by: whatallisonsees | July 26, 2009

Estes Park

Boulder. Monday morning. I woke to packing and two freakin’ boots on my car!! Arg!  Guess the parking directions I received weren’t too legit. So $70 later to a parkingish security man, and information that I can plead my case via letter to the city, Katie and I drove up to Estes Park for the morning so I could meet with the HR Director for the YMCA.  We also got to surprise a couple friends that were working there for the summer. That was awesome, since they had no idea.

I am hoping to work there next summer, so I can save a few dollars on rent and food, plus since the summer I worked at Pine Cove as a wrangler, I have been trying to figure out a way to work at a camp again, and seems like this is my perfect chance!  When Joe, the director, asked me what kind of job I am interested in, I told him to climbing and outdoor scene, since that’s my forte nowadays, but really I told me him, anywhere where I can be with people, encouraging them to have fun, and motivating them to be active.  I just love anything like that – so a counselor, or manage the craft area or anything else! He said that’s the right attitude, so I’ll apply in January and see what happens.

Estes was gorgeous!  Tons of beautiful mountains, and great weather, and the little downtown is super cute – a bit reminiscent of Naperville, actually.  The YMCA is a stinkin’ compound! It can hold up to 4500 people, has its own zip code and gas station!   I can’t wait.

Gorgeous drive to Estes

Gorgeous drive to Estes

My hopeful home next summer!

My hopeful home next summer!

We ran into and found some friends from Kentuckey and Arkansas.  It was fun surprising them after we stopped at the Y so I could talk to the HR director.

We ran into and found some friends from Kentuckey and Arkansas. It was fun surprising them after we stopped at the Y so I could talk to the HR director.

Really awesome bike dude helping me install my used hybrid tires for my bike I bought in Boulder.

Really awesome bike dude helping me install my used hybrid tires for my bike I bought in Boulder.

Its a family of moose sans the dad, in the middle of Estes Park!!! Crazy!

Its a family of moose sans the dad, in the middle of Estes Park!!! Crazy!

Leave a Reply

Categories

